Our Networks

Our centralised Network Management Centre in New Plymouth monitors Powerco's gas and electricity networks.

Electricity networks

Powerco distributes electricity to 336,000 urban and rural households, businesses and major industrial and commercial sites in New Zealand's North Island.

Powerco's electricity networks are in the Taranaki, Wanganui, Rangitikei, Manawatu and Wairarapa regions, including the urban centres of New Plymouth, Wanganui, Palmerston North and Masterton, as well as Tauranga and the surrounding rural areas and the eastern and southern Waikato, Thames and Coromandel regions

Our networks, including 30,000 km of overhead and underground electricity lines, transport electricity from the national electricity transmission grid, owned and operated by Transpower, to homes and businesses in our areas of operation.

Gas networks

Powerco distributes natural gas to more than 106,000 North Island households, businesses and industries across its distribution networks of over 6,170km.

Powerco's gas networks are in the Taranaki, Manawatu, Hutt Valley, Porirua, Wellington City, Horowhenua and Hawke's Bay regions. The gas is drawn from the transmission system owned and operated by Vector.


This map shows where Powerco's electricity and gas networks are.


Last Updated: 22 Aug 2017 - 11:52:17